No spit for me, thanks.

26Mar08

 

culinary foam or spit Culinary foam. I don’t know exactly when it happened, but it must have been sometime after the Starbucks revolution. My assumption is that once the frothy tops took over cappuccinos around the globe, it was only a matter of time before they made the jump to your plate. I personally don’t even allow that milky foamy residue to rest atop my coffee, ordering mine without the coating of saliva, so I find this trend is even more disturbing. In the last couple years molecular gastronomy emerged in NYC and next thing you know, frothy bubbly guck found its way on to meals 3,000 miles away.

Clearly this erupted from chefs who never grew out of their childhood dreams of becoming Bill Nye the Science Guy. Often using chemical stabilizers, they have transformed juices, sauces and flavourings into big drops of spit to sit atop your plate. It conjures up appetizing imagery, like the frothy scum layer that develops in a filthy hot tub, the foaming mouth of rabies-infested Cujo or the minty bubbles of phlegm that get whipped up by the dentist’s tools. And now, it’s in your food! And, yes, it’s going on The List. God help the poor waiter who attempts to serve me a big ol’ loogie resting on top my food. There’s bound to be trouble.

One Response to “No spit for me, thanks.”

  1. 1 Hanna

    Ugh…I think I just threw up in my mouth a little. No more spit!


Leave a Reply

